Akron, OH (Sept. 28, 2019) — More than 10,000 athletes and approximately 100,000 spectators gathered at the marquee event of the Akron Children’s Hospital Akron Marathon Race Series, the FirstEnergy Akron Marathon, Half Marathon and Team Relay, which began with a new starting line, inside the historic grounds of Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens.

On a warm morning, the FirstEnergy Akron Marathon, Half Marathon and Team Relay welcomed runners from 42 states, with ages 9 to 80 competing on Sat., Sept. 28, 2019, beginning at 7:30 a.m.

Traveling 26.2 miles through the streets of Akron at 2:25:39 and 2:47:27, Caleb Hoover of Flagstaff, AZ, and Lizzie Gleason of Dayton were the top finishers in today’s marathon. Zachary Hoagland of Hatfield, PA, was the runner-up in the men’s marathon with a time of 2:26:48 while Dylan Garritano of Akron crossed the line third at 2:29:08.

For the women, Jaclyn Range of Westlake finished second with a time of 2:59:03 followed by Maura Lemon of Dayton finishing with a time of 2:59:53 in the marathon. (Complete winner information can be found at the end of release.)

The half marathon winners were Nathaniel Orndoft from Akron with a time of 1:07:09 and Sarah Horbol from Westlake with a time of 1:18:32. Jacob Law from Louisville, KY, and Chris Lemon from Dayton, OH, placed second and third in the men’s division.

Anna Dalton from Anchorage, AK, and Desiree Linden from Washington, MI, rounded out the winner’s podium for the women’s half marathon. Linden, Olympic medalist and world-class distance runner, was also awarded the 2019 Akron Marathon Ambassador’s Award on Thurs., at the Akron Marathon Health and Fitness Expo presented by Summa Health and SummaCare.

Top times in the Masters Division (40 years and older) were put up by Scott Davis of Carlisle, PA, and Teresa Ferguson of Powell in the marathon. For the half marathon, the top masters were Aaron Usher of Cadillac, MI, and Michelle Bertenthal of Mayfield Heights.

“Thank you, Akron!” said Anne Bitong, executive director of the Akron Marathon. “From our runners, to our partners and volunteers, this community pulled together to showcase our Akron community. It is because of your commitment that helps make this a world-class event—and help the children at our Akron Children’s Hospital. Through the series, we have been able to raise over $1.7 million for Akron Children’s Hospital. We are confident that with our dedicated partners and the passionate runners in this area we will continue to push that number even higher to benefit all the kids fighting their ongoing battles at Akron Children’s.”

“Marathon day in Akron is just a joyous event, bringing people together to run, to walk, to volunteer and to cheer on friends and family,” said Grace Wakulchik, president and CEO of Akron Children’s. “It’s a day of celebration and community and Akron Children’s is proud to support it and to honor our ‘hero patients’ along the Blue Line. These children and their families truly are heroes in every sense of the word.”

Plans are already underway for the 2020 Akron Marathon Race Series and details will continue to be updated at AkronMarathon.org in the days and months to come.

“When we signed on as a major sponsor of the Akron Marathon back in 2003, we knew it was something special,” said Chuck Jones, president and CEO of FirstEnergy. “FirstEnergy is proud to serve as presenting sponsor for this world-class event, which has provided significant benefits to our community over the years.”

Complete winner information: 



  1. Caleb Hoover, Flagstaff, AZ, 2:25:39
  2. Zachary Hoagland, Hatfield, PA, 2:26:48
  3. Dylan Garritano, Akron, 2:29:08
  4. Mike Deren, Louisville, KY, 2:30:20
  5. Israel Merkle, Akron, 2:30:46


  1. Lizzie Gleason, Dayton, 2:47:27
  2. Jaclyn Range, Westlake, 2:59:03
  3. Maura Lemon, Dayton, 2:59:53
  4. Barbara Lorson, Orrville, 2:59:57
  5. Teresa Ferguson, Akron, 3:04:42

Masters Male

  1. Scott Davis, Carlisle, PA, 2:46:08
  2. Jeffrey Chalmers, Bay Village, 2:58:57
  3. Matthew Garrod, Wyoming, 2:59:14

Masters Female

  1. Teresa Ferguson, Powell, 3:04:42
  2. Amanda Debevc, Chagrin Falls, 3:30:47
  3. Kristy Kenna, Akron, 3:34:19




  1. Nathaniel Orndoft, Akron, 1:07:09
  2. Jacob Law, Louisville, KY, 1:08:15
  3. Chris Lemon, Dayton, 1:08:51


  1. Sarah Horbol, Westlake, 1:18:32
  2. Anna Dalton, Anchorage, AK, 1:21:04
  3. Desiree Linden, Washington, MI, 1:22:17


Masters Male

  1. Aaron Usher, Cadillac, MI, 1:16:38
  2. Matthew Yacoub, Northville, MI, 1:18:51
  3. Jeff Day, Strongsville, 1:20:06

Masters Female

  1. Michelle Bertenthal, Mayfield Heights, 1:26:33
  2. Brenda Hodge, York, PA, 1:31:11
  3. Erin Rock, Lexington, KY, 1:32:03



For more information about the Akron Children’s Hospital Akron Marathon Race Series, please visit AkronMarathon.org.

# # #

About the Akron Children’s Hospital Akron Marathon Race Series

The Akron Children’s Hospital Akron Marathon Race Series is organized by the Akron Marathon Charitable Corporation, a non-profit group founded in 2002 to provide a world-class marathon and other events that promote health and fitness, stimulate the local economy, galvanize the community and benefit charitable organizations. The series features race dates in June (National Interstate 8k & 1-Mile) and August (Goodyear Half Marathon & 10k), culminating with the 17th running of the FirstEnergy Akron Marathon, Half Marathon, Team Relay & Kids Fun Run in September. Additional information is available at AkronMarathon.org or by calling (330) 434-2RUN (2786).